List of All Counties in Alabama: Total Counties in Numbers

List of All Counties in Alabama: Total Counties in Numbers. The state of Alabama has a total of 67 counties. The oldest of these is Houston County, which was founded in 1903, while Washington County was founded in 1800. The most populous county is Jefferson County, which has 658,466 residents. By land area, Etowah County (1,386 km2) is the smallest county and Baldwin County (4,118 km2) is the largest. Here We have Provided a Complete List of all Counties Below.

List of All Counties in Alabama
List of All Counties in Alabama

List of All Counties in Alabama: Total Counties in Numbers

On December 14, 1819, Alabama joined the Union as the 22nd state. The word “Alabama” is a Choctaw term that means “thicket clearers” or “vegetation gatherers.” Alabama’s state capital is Montgomery. During the American Civil War, it served as the Confederate States of America’s first capital.

The Northern Flicker, the official bird of Alabama, is known as the “Yellowhammer State” because of its yellow feathers. The Mobile-Tensaw Delta, the country’s longest subterranean river system, and the Bankhead National Forest, which has picturesque mountains, waterfalls, and hiking trails, are just a few of Alabama’s natural beauties. Please see the alphabetized list of all Alabama counties below.

  • Autauga County, AL
  • Baldwin County, AL
  • Barbour County, AL
  • Bibb County, AL
  • Blount County, AL
  • Bullock County, AL
  • Butler County, AL
  • Calhoun County, AL
  • Chambers County, AL
  • Cherokee County, AL
  • Chilton County, AL
  • Choctaw County, AL
  • Clarke County, AL
  • Clay County, AL
  • Cleburne County, AL
  • Coffee County, AL
  • Colbert County, AL
  • Conecuh County, AL
  • Coosa County, AL
  • Covington County, AL
  • Crenshaw County, AL
  • Cullman County, AL
  • Dale County, AL
  • Dallas County, AL
  • DeKalb County, AL
  • Elmore County, AL
  • Escambia County, AL
  • Etowah County, AL
  • Fayette County, AL
  • Franklin County, AL
  • Geneva County, AL
  • Greene County, AL
  • Hale County, AL
  • Henry County, AL
  • Houston County, AL
  • Jackson County, AL
  • Jefferson County, AL
  • Lamar County, AL
  • Lauderdale County, AL
  • Lawrence County, AL
  • Lee County, AL
  • Limestone County, AL
  • Lowndes County, AL
  • Macon County, AL
  • Madison County, AL
  • Marengo County, AL
  • Marion County, AL
  • Marshall County, AL
  • Mobile County, AL
  • Monroe County, AL
  • Montgomery County, AL
  • Morgan County, AL
  • Perry County, AL
  • Pickens County, AL
  • Pike County, AL
  • Randolph County, AL
  • Russell County, AL
  • Saint Clair County, AL
  • Shelby County, AL
  • Sumter County, AL
  • Talladega County, AL
  • Tallapoosa County, AL
  • Tuscaloosa County, AL
  • Walker County, AL
  • Washington County, AL
  • Wilcox County, AL
  • Winston County, AL

Alabama Important Facts:

Fact Description
Capital Montgomery
Largest City Birmingham
Statehood December 14, 1819
Abbreviation AL
Nickname “The Yellowhammer State” and “The Heart of Dixie”
Motto “Audemus jura nostra defendere” (Latin for “We dare defend our rights”)
Official Language English
Governor Kay Ivey
Area 52,419 square miles (135,767 square kilometers)
Population Approximately 5.03 million (as of 2021)
Time Zone Central Time Zone (CT)
Major Industries
  • Agriculture
  • Manufacturing
  • Aerospace
  • Automotive
  • Healthcare
  • Finance
  • Technology
State Bird Yellowhammer
State Flower Camellia
State Tree Longleaf Pine
State Mammal Black Bear
State Song “Alabama”
Major Sports Teams – Alabama Crimson Tide (college football)

State Symbols:

State Symbols of Alabama are Given below. check All Symbols Names below.

  • State Reptile: Red-bellied Turtle
  • State Mineral: Hematite
  • State Fossil: Basilosaurus

Notable Landmarks:

  • USS Alabama Battleship Memorial Park
  • Space & Rocket Center in Huntsville
  • Gulf Shores and Orange Beach
  • Selma’s Edmund Pettus Bridge

Notable Universities:

Alabama Notable Universities List is given below. Check the Name Of all Universities below.

  • University of Alabama
  • Auburn University
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • Troy University

FAQ: List of All Counties in Alabama

Q: What is the capital of Alabama?

A: The capital of Alabama is Montgomery.

Q: What is the largest city in Alabama?

A: Birmingham is the largest city in Alabama.

Q: When did Alabama become a state?

A: Alabama became a state on December 14, 1819.

Q: What is Alabama’s nickname?

A: Alabama is known as “The Yellowhammer State” and “The Heart of Dixie.”

Q: What is Alabama’s motto?

A: Alabama’s motto is “Audemus jura nostra defendere,” which means “We dare defend our rights” in Latin.

Q: What are some state symbols of Alabama?

A: Alabama has several state symbols, including

  • The state bird (Yellowhammer)
  • State flower (Camellia)
  • State tree (Longleaf Pine)
  • State mammal (Black Bear)
  • State reptile (Red-bellied Turtle)
  • State mineral (Hematite)
  • State fossil (Basilosaurus)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top