Schengen Country List 2023: Upcoming Schengen Country List

Schengen Country List 2023: Upcoming Schengen Country List 2024 , Schengen areas mean the region where 27 European countries ended the restricted movement of people by abolishing internal borders. This decision has been taken to control the outer border, bring harmony among the citizens and strengthen the general justice system.

Most EU countries fall under the Schengen areas. However, there are exceptions such as Ireland and soon countries that will become part of Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia and Cyprus. Therefore, you can travel to countries within the Schengen area without border controls and lengthy formalities. If you are travelling from India, the Schengen visa may allow you to stay for a maximum of 90 days. However, this factor depends entirely on the type of visa. Here is a list of Schengen visa countries that you can visit before planning your trip.

Schengen Country List
Schengen Country List

Schengen Country List 2023: Upcoming Schengen Country List

Type of zone Passport-free area with a common visa policy
Number of member countries 27
Date created 14 June 1985
Total area 4,312,099 km2
Population as of 2018 419,392,429
Number of crossings per year (in 2022) 1.3 billion
Post Category  International List 
Post By  Sarkarilist.Org

Today, the Schengen Zone consists of 27 European countries, whose citizens move freely within the region. Despite Liechtenstein being the last country to become a member state, the Schengen area is open for other countries to join. However, each potential member state must meet certain criteria to be part of the Schengen. The current member countries of the Schengen Area are as follows:

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Croatia
  4. Czechia
  5. Denmark
  6. Estonia
  7. Finland
  8. France
  9. Germany
  10. Greece
  11. Hungary
  12. Iceland
  13. Italy
  14. Latvia
  15. Liechtenstein
  16. Lithuania
  17. Luxembourg
  18. Malta
  19. Netherlands
  20. Norway
  21. Poland
  22. Portugal
  23. Slovakia
  24. Slovenia
  25. Spain
  26. Sweden
  27. Switzerland

Schengen State’s Territories that are not part of the Schengen Area

Country  Area Not Included 
  • French Guiana
  • Guadeloupe
  • Martinique
  • Mayotte and Réunion
  • The overseas collectivity of Saint Martin
Other French Areas neither part of the EU nor the Schengen Area
  • French Polynesia
  • French Southern and Antarctic Lands
  • New Caledonia
  • Saint Barthélemy
  • Saint-Pierre and Miquelon
  • Wallis and Futuna
  • BES islands – Bonaire, Sint Eustatius, Saba *
  • Aruba**
  • Curacao**
  • Sint Maarten*
  • Svalbard
  • The Danish territories of the Faroe Islands and Greenland

What is a Schengen Visa?

A Schengen visa is a document in the form of a sticker pasted on a traveler’s passport. It allows its holder to enter 27 Schengen countries, without the need to submit it before entering each country. Instead, those holding a Schengen visa will only need to submit it at the Schengen port of entry. To obtain a Schengen visa, a traveler must collect the necessary documents, attend an e-visa interview and pay a visa fee.

Depending on the purpose of admission, one of the following Schengen visa types may be applied for:

  • Tourist Visa
  • Visa for visiting friends / family members
  • Business Visa
  • Medical Visa
  • Study Visa
  • Training / Internship Visa.

Which countries can you visit with a Schengen visa In 2023?

Apart From Schengen Countries Visa Holder Can Visit These Countries Also. Check Full List Given below

  • Albania
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Colombia
  • Cyprus
  • Georgia
  • Gibraltar
  • Kosovo
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia
  • Romania
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Serbia
  • Turkey

Which countries will join Schengen in 2023?

  • Croatia Joined Schengen Countries List On 1 January 2023.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top