List of Presidents of Nicaragua 2022 | Who Was First President Of Nicaragua

List of Presidents of Nicaragua 2022 | Who Was First President Of Nicaragua – The President of Nicaragua, officially known as the President of the Republic of Nicaragua, is the head of state of Nicaragua and the head of government. The office was created in the Constitution of 1854. From 1825 to the Constitution of 1838, the head of the Nicaragua state was styled only as the head of state and as the supreme director from 1838 to 1854. Incumbent President, Daniel Ortega, has served as president since 2007. The term of the president was reduced to five years from 1985 to 1990, seven years from 1990 to 1997, and again to five years in 1997.

From 1990 to 2009, the president was barred from immediate re-election. A sitting president can run again after a wait of five years, but if successful he will have to step down for good at the end of his second, non-continuous term. However, in 2009, the Supreme Court ruled that the constitutional ban on immediate re-election was unenforceable. In 2014, the legislature amended the constitution to allow the president to run for an unlimited number of five-year terms.

List of Presidents of Nicaragua 2022 | Who Was First President Of Nicaragua

List of Presidents of Nicaragua 2022 | Who Was First President Of Nicaragua

1Daniel Ortega10 January 2007 – IncumbentSandinista National Liberation Front
2Enrique Bolaños Geyer10 January 2002 – 10 January 2007Constitutionalist Liberal Party
3José Arnoldo Alemán Lacayo10 January 1997 – 10 January 2002Constitutionalist Liberal Party
4Violeta Chamorro25 April 1990 – 10 January 1997Democratic Union of Liberation
5Daniel Ortega10 January 1985 – 25 April 1990Sandinista National Liberation Front
6Junta of National Reconstruction18 July 1979 – 10 January 1985Multipartisan / Sandinista National Liberation Front
7Francisco Urcuyo17 July 1979 – 18 July 1979Nationalist Liberal Party
8Anastasio Somoza DeBayle1 December 1974 – 17 July 1979Military/Nationalist Liberal Party
9Liberal-Conservative Junta1 May 1972 – 1 December 1974Nationalist Liberal Party/Social Conservative Party
10Anastasio Somoza DeBayle1 May 1967 – 1 May 1972Military/Nationalist Liberal Party
11Lorenzo Guerrero4 August 1966 – 1 May 1967Nationalist Liberal Party
12René Schick1 May 1963 – 3 August 1966Nationalist Liberal Party
13Luis Somoza Debayle29 September 1956 – 1 May 1963Nationalist Liberal Party
14Anastasio Somoza García21 May 1950 – 29 September 1956Nationalist Liberal Party
15Víctor Manuel Román y Reyes15 August 1947 – 6 May 1950Nationalist Liberal Party
16Benjamín Lacayo Sacasa26 May 1947 – 15 August 1947Nationalist Liberal Party
17Leonardo Argüello Barreto1 May 1947 – 26 May 1947Nationalist Liberal Party
18Anastasio Somoza García1 January 1937 – 1 May 1947Military/Nationalist Liberal Party
19Carlos Alberto Brenes9 June 1936 – 1 January 1937Liberal Party
20Juan Bautista Sacasa1 January 1933 – 9 June 1936Liberal Party
21Jose Maria Moncada Tapia1 January 1929 – 1 January 1933Liberal Party
22Adolfo Díaz14 November 1926 – 1 January 1929Conservative Party
23Emiliano Chamorro Vargas14 March 1926 – 11 November 1926Conservative Party
24Carlos José Solórzano1 January 1925 – 14 March 1926Conservative Party
25Bartolomé Martínez27 October 1923 – 1 January 1925Conservative Party
26Rosendo Chamorro12 October 1923 – 27 October 1923Conservative Party
27Diego Manuel Chamorro1 January 1921 – 12 October 1923Conservative Party
28Emiliano Chamorro Vargas1 January 1917 – 1 January 1921Conservative Party
29Adolfo Díaz9 May 1911 – 1 January 1917Conservative Party
30Juan José Estrada30 August 1910 – 9 May 1911Conservative Party
31Luis Mena27 August 1910 – 30 August 1910Conservative Party
32José Dolores Estrada20 August 1910 – 27 August 1910Conservative Party
33José Madriz21 December 1909 – 20 August 1910Liberal Party
34José Santos Zelaya25 July 1893 – 21 December 1909Liberal Party
35Roberto Sacasa1 March 1891 – 11 July 1893Conservative Party
36Ignacio Chávez1 January 1891 – 1 March 1891Conservative Party
37Roberto Sacasa5 August 1889 – 1 January 1891Conservative Party
38Evaristo Carazo1 March 1887 – 1 August 1889Conservative Party
39Adán Cárdenas1 March 1883 – 1 March 1887Conservative Party
40Joaquín Zavala1 March 1879 – 1 March 1883Conservative Party

You can also see the list of Presidents of other countries: we are sharing the list of Presidents of all countries.

List of Presidents of France List of Presidents of China 
List of Presidents of Indonesia List of Presidents of Italy
List of Presidents of Mexico List of Presidents of South Africa
List of Presidents of RussiaList of Presidents of Germany 
List of Presidents of Finland List of Presidents of Bangladesh 
List of Presidents of Brazil List of Presidents of India
List of Presidents of Venezuela List of Presidents of Argentina 
List of Presidents of AustriaList of Presidents of Bolivia
List of Presidents of Chile List of Presidents of Colombia 
List of Presidents of Costa Rica List of Presidents of Dominican Republic 
List of Presidents of Ecuador List of Presidents of El Salvador 
List of Presidents of GeorgiaList of Presidents of Guatemala
List of Presidents of Honduras List of Presidents of Macedonia 
List of Presidents of Nauru

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top