List of all the countries banned by FIFA 2024 ( Updated )

List of all the countries banned by FIFA – Latest Updated List – Indian FA is the latest in the list of countries banned by FIFA on third-party interference FIFA has suspended the All India Football Federation (AIFF) with immediate effect due to undue third-party interference in the AIFF, which is a violation of FIFA rules.

“Unless specifically provided in FIFA rules, recourse to ordinary courts of law is prohibited,” the FIFA law says. It is also prohibited to resort to common courts of law for all kinds of provisional measures.

“The associations shall insert a clause in their statutes or regulations, stipulating that it is prohibited to take disputes in the association or disputes affecting leagues, members of leagues, clubs, members of clubs, players, officials and other association officials to ordinary courts of law, unless the FIFA regulations or binding legal provisions specifically provide for or stipulate recourse to ordinary courts of law.

India’s Supreme Court had recently asked AIFF president Praful Patel to step down and appointed a Committee of Administrators (CoA) to handle the affairs of the Indian FA. However, after the resulting developments violated the aforementioned FIFA statute, world football’s governing body decided to ban the AIFF. This is not the first time FIFA has imposed such a ban on its member associations. Let’s look at some instances when FIFA banned countries due to third-party interference.

List of all the countries banned by FIFA
List of all the countries banned by FIFA

List of all the countries banned by FIFA 2022 – Latest Updated List

Country  Details
IRAQ 2008
  • FIFA banned Iraq In 2008.
  • Banned ahead of their 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifier against Australia after the Iraqi government dissolved their National Olympic Committee and national sports federations.
Iraq | 2009
  • The Iraq Olympic Committee decided to disband the country’s football federation and this decision led to FIFA opting to ban the West Asian nation due to government interference.
Nigeria | 2014
  • After a poor performance at the 2014 FIFA World Cup, the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) decided to sack the executive committee and the Nigerian court ordered a civil servant to run the federation.
  • FIFA immediately decided to suspend the NFF on 9 July 2014.
  • NFF, however, was reinstated within 9 days of the court order being set aside.
Guatemala | 2016
  • In October 2016, Guatemala was suspended by FIFA following a transitional committee appointed by the apex body to run the federation in the wake of a corruption scandal, after the directors of the Federacin Nacional de Futbol de Guatemala refused to recognise the committee.
Kuwait | 2015
  • FIFA decided to ban Kuwait from regional, continental and international football in October 2015 after it was revealed that the country’s government was interfering in the work of football associations present in the country.
  • The Kuwaiti government had brought in a law that did not allow clubs and the Kuwait Football Association to act independently, which FIFA regarded as third-party influence.
Indonesia | 2015
  • The world soccer body suspended Indonesia after the government essentially took charge of soccer affairs.
  • The Indonesian professional sports body, part of the Ministry of Youth and Sports, derecognised the Indonesian Football Federation and instead formed a committee to replace it.
  • Because of this development, FIFA had no choice but to impose a ban that would be lifted two years later.
  • As a result, Indonesia missed the 2018 World Cup and 2019 Asian Cup qualifying campaigns.
Pakistan | 2017
  • In October 2017, Pakistan was banned by FIFA from participating in international competitions due to “undue interference from third parties”.
  • This was after the PFF’s offices and accounts were under the control of a court-appointed administrator who violated FIFA rules.
Chad | 2021
  • Chad Football Association was dissolved by the Ministry of Youth and Sports in March 2021 and thereafter, FIFA decided to ban the country from participating in international competitions.
Zimbabwe | 2022
  • FIFA banned Zimbabwe in February 2022 after the Zimbabwean FA (ZIFA) was suspended by the country’s government-appointed Sports and Recreation Commission (SRC).
Pakistan | 2022
  • The Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) was banned by FIFA after a faction of officials took charge of the federation’s headquarters from the normalisation committee, which was set up by the governing body for world football.
  • FIFA decided to suspend the PFF due to a ‘hostile takeover’ which was a serious violation of its statutes.
  • Ban Lifted In July 2022

Is Pakistan still banned from FIFA?

No Pakistan is not banned from FIFA now. It was suspended from all football activities by FIFA on 7 April 2021. The suspension was lifted on 29 June 2022.

Which countries are banned from the FIFA World Cup?

The countries that are banned from the FIFA World Cup are the following:

  • Russia
  • Kenya and Zimbabwe
  • South Africa
  • Yugoslavia
  • Chile
  • Indonesia
  • Kuwait
  • Mexico

Which countries are not part of FIFA?

The Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Monaco, Nauru, Palau, Tuvalu, Marshall Islands, and Vatican City are not affiliated with FIFA but they have taken part in FIFA Cups.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top